Glam news

Guy Fieri: Men have always been cooks. Since the first saber-toothed-tiger burger

Q1

PLAYBOY: You have spiky bleached hair, tats, bling, money, millions of fans and serious attitude.
When did chefs become the new rock stars?
FIERI: All I know is we all gotta eat, and not everybody knows how to cook. So if you’re the guy who can rock the kitchen, people go crazy for you.
People such as Bobby Flay, Emeril Lagasse, Tom Colicchio, the Iron Chefs—they’ve turned food making into a kind of arena spectator sport
with their TV shows and competitions, and their restaurants, cookbooks and products have made them rich.
Me? I’m just a dude who always loved to cook. At a certain point I got to the reality I wasn’t going to be Evel Knievel or a pro football player,
which were my childhood dreams. So I thought, Hey, why not be just as frickin’ cool with a frying pan in my hand?

Q2

PLAYBOY: Gone are the days of “A woman’s place is in the kitchen.”
But what exactly is a guy’s place in the kitchen right now?
FIERI: Men have always been cooks. Since the first saber-toothed-tiger burger, guys have been grilling and thrilling.
My dad was always my role model. He could make anything in the kitchen, even when we were basically living out of a van in California.
I remember once he traded a pair of cowboy boots for salmon.
He liked to cook healthy, vegetarian mostly, with a little fish and stuff like bulgur. Yuck.
One night we had eggplant parmigiana, and I said, “Why can’t we have chicken parmigiana like everybody else?”
That was the fatal day.

more…

.

January 6, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

