Glam news

Mel Gibson is back

Mel Gibson

This month, more than six years after his last major film role, the
actor, who made his name in hit movies such as Mad Max and Lethal Weapon,
is back on the big screen in a remake of the 1980s British TV thriller, Edge of Darkness.

Though having won a Best Director Oscar for Braveheart, and
critical acclaim for The Passion of the Christ and Apocalypto,
both of which he directed and produced, Mel seems happy to be returning to his “first love” of acting.

Mel Gibson’s baby Lucia, being cradled by the little girl’s mother Oksana Grigorieva.

Your girlfriend Oksana has a new album out. Will you help promote it?

“Oh, she’s a tremendous artist. She composes and writes songs and she’s classically trained.
This gal can play Rachmaninoff and Chopin. She writes the lyrics to her songs, and I helped her
with some poetry on some of them. In fact, one of the songs that she and I wrote, Say My Name,
is at the end of my new film.”

Why were you so eager to act again?

“It’s more lucrative. It’s fun. It’s my first love. That’s what I started doing and I wanted to do it again.
I took time away – I felt that I was stale – and I came back and I feel like some kind of maturation happened,
where the choices I make now are quite different from the choices I would have made eight years ago,
so that’s good.”

February 1, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

